2022 Gubernatorial Elections


Thirty-six (36) states will hold elections to choose governors this cycle.

Click on a candidate's name to view issues they are campaigning on and the plans they propose to implement if elected.



Disclaimer: The information contained in the table below is subject to revision and will be updated throughout the election cycle. 

For additional information, please contact Meghan Holihan

State Current Party Control Primary Date Candidate
Texas Republican 3/1/2022 Governor Greg Abbott (R) (Inc.)
Texas Republican 3/1/2022 Former Congressman Beto O'Rourke (D)
Ohio Republican 5/3/2022 Governor Mike DeWine (R) (Inc.)
Ohio Republican 5/3/2022 Nan Whaley (D)
Nebraska (Open Seat) Republican 5/10/2022 State Senator Carol Blood (D)
Nebraska (Open Seat) Republican 5/10/2022 Jim Pillen (R)
Idaho Republican 5/17/2022 Governor Brad Little (R) (Inc.)
Idaho Republican 5/17/2022 Stephen Heidt (D)
Oregon (Open Seat) Democratic 5/17/2022 Former Speaker of the House Tina Kotek (D)
Oregon (Open Seat) Democratic 5/17/2022 Former State Representative Christine Drazan (R)
Oregon (Open Seat) Democratic 5/17/2022 Former State Senator Betsy Johnson (Unaffiliated)
Pennsylvania (Open Seat) Democratic 5/17/2022 Attorney General Josh Shapiro (D)
Pennsylvania (Open Seat) Democratic 5/17/2022 State Senator Douglas V. Mastriano (R)
Alabama Republican 5/24/2022 Governor Kay Ivey (R) (Inc.)
Alabama Republican 5/25/2022 (Runoff - 6/21/2022) Yolanda Flowers (D)
Georgia Republican 5/24/2022 Governor Brian Kemp (R) (Inc.)
Georgia Republican 5/24/2022 Former State Representative Stacey Abrams (D)
Arkansas (Open Seat) Republican 5/24/2022 Chris Jones (D)
Arkansas (Open Seat) Republican 5/24/2022 Sarah Huckabee Sanders (R)
California Democratic 6/7/2022 Governor Gavin Newsom (D) (Inc.)
California Democratic 6/7/2022 State Senator Brian Dahle (R)
Iowa Republican 6/7/2022 Governor Kim Reynolds (R) (Inc.)
Iowa Republican 6/7/2022 Deidre DeJear (D)
New Mexico Democratic 6/7/2022 Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham (D) (Inc.)
New Mexico Democratic 6/7/2022 Mark V. Ronchetti (R)
South Dakota Republican 6/7/2022 Governor Kristi Noem (R) (Inc.)
South Dakota Republican 6/7/2022 State Representative Jamie Smith (D)
Maine Democratic 6/14/2022 Governor Janet Mills (D) (Inc.)
Maine Democratic 6/14/2022 Former Governor Paul LePage (R)
Nevada Democratic 6/14/2022 Governor Steve Sisolak (D) (Inc.)
Nevada Democratic 6/14/2022 Sheriff Joe Lombardo (R)
South Carolina Republican 6/14/2022 Governor Henry McMaster (R) (Inc.)
South Carolina Republican 6/14/2022 Former Congressman Joe Cunningham (D)
Colorado Democratic 6/28/2022 Governor Jared Polis (D) (Inc.)
Colorado Democratic 6/28/2022 Heidi Ganahl (R)
Illinois Democratic 6/28/2022 Governor JB Pritzker (D) (Inc.)
Illinois Democratic 6/28/2022 State Senator Darren Bailey (R)
New York Democratic 6/28/2022 Governor Kathy C. Hochul (D) (Inc.)
New York Democratic 6/28/2022 Congressman Lee Zeldin (R)
Oklahoma Republican 6/28/2022 Governor Kevin Stitt (R) (Inc.)
Oklahoma Republican 6/28/2022 Joy Hofmeister (D)
Maryland (Open Seat) Republican 7/19/2022 State Representative Dan Cox (R)
Maryland (Open Seat) Republican 7/19/2022 Wes Moore (D)
Arizona (Open Seat) Republican 8/2/2022 Kari Lake (R)
Arizona (Open Seat) Republican 8/2/2022 Secretary of State Katie Hobbs (R)
Kansas Democratic 8/2/2022 Governor Laura Kelly (Inc.)
Kansas Democratic 8/2/2022 Attorney General Derek Schmidt
Michigan Democratic 8/2/2022 Governor Gretchen Whitmer (D) (Inc.)
Michigan Democratic 8/2/2022 Tudor M. Dixon (R)
Tennessee Republican 8/4/2022 Governor Bill Lee (R) (Inc.)
Tennessee Republican 8/4/2022 Jason Brantley Martin (D)
Connecticut Democratic 8/9/2022 Governor Edward Lamont (D) (Inc.)
Connecticut Democratic 8/9/2022 Robert Stefanowski (R)
Minnesota Democratic 8/9/2022 Governor Tim Walz (D) (Inc.)
Minnesota Democratic 8/9/2022 Scott Jensen (R)
Vermont Republican 8/9/2022 Governor Phil Scott (R) (Inc.)
Vermont Republican 8/9/2022 Susan Hatch Davis (Progressive)
Vermont Republican 8/9/2022 Brenda Siegel (D)
Wisconsin Democratic 8/9/2022 Governor Tony Evers (D) (Inc.)
Wisconsin Democratic 8/9/2022 Tim Michels (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Lieutenant Governor Josh Green (D)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 State Representative Kai Kahele (D)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 David L. (Duke) Bourgoin (D)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Vicky Cayetano (D)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Richard Kim (D)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Clyde Mcclain (Mac) Lewman (D)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 David Ford (D)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 John Mungo (D)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Former Lieutenant Governor Duke Aiona (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 City Councilwoman Heidi Tsuneyoshi (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Jay Bitar (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Zachary B. Burd (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Gary Cordery (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Wendell A. Elento (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Harvey W. Eli (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 George Hawat (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Keline Kahau (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Lynn Barry Mariano (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Paul Morgan (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Sharie S. Ono (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Moses (Momo) Paskowitz (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Bj Penn (R)
Hawaii (Open Seat) Democratic 8/13/2022 Walter Woods (R)
Alaska Republican 8/16/2022 Governor Mike Dunleavy (R) (Inc.)
Alaska Republican 8/16/2022 David S. Haeg (R)
Alaska Republican 8/16/2022 State Representative Christopher Kurka (R)
Alaska Republican 8/16/2022 Charlie Pierce (R)
Alaska Republican 8/16/2022 Bruce Walden (R)
Alaska Republican 8/16/2022 Former State Representative Les Gara (D)
Alaska Republican 8/16/2022 Former Governor Bill Walker (Nonpartisan)
Wyoming Republican 8/16/2022 Governor Mark Gordon (R) (Inc.)
Wyoming Republican 8/16/2022 Brent Bien (R)
Wyoming Republican 8/16/2022 James Scott Quick (R)
Wyoming Republican 8/16/2022 Rex Rammell (R)
Wyoming Republican 8/16/2022 Theresa A. Livingston (D)
Wyoming Republican 8/16/2022 Rex Wilde (D)
Florida Republican 8/23/2022 Governor Ron DeSantis (R) (Inc.)
Florida Republican 8/23/2022 Former State Representative Charlie Crist (D)
Florida Republican 8/23/2022 Florida Commissioner of Agriculture Nikki Fried (D)
Florida Republican 8/23/2022 Cadance Daniel (D)
Florida Republican 8/23/2022 Robert L. Willis (D)
Massachusetts (Open Seat) Republican 9/6/2022 State Senator Sonia Rosa Chang-Díaz (D)
Massachusetts (Open Seat) Republican 9/6/2022 Attorney General Maura Healey (D)
Massachusetts (Open Seat) Republican 9/6/2022 Former State Representative Geoff Diehl (R)
Massachusetts (Open Seat) Republican 9/6/2022 Chris Doughty (R)
New Hampshire Republican 9/13/2022 Governor Chris Sununu (R) (Inc.)
New Hampshire Republican 9/13/2022 Julian M. Acciard (R)
New Hampshire Republican 9/13/2022 Jay Lewis Laconia (R)
New Hampshire Republican 9/13/2022 Richard A. McMenamon (R)
New Hampshire Republican 9/13/2022 Thaddeus P. Riley (R)
New Hampshire Republican 9/13/2022 Former City Councilor Karen Testerman (R)
New Hampshire Republican 9/13/2022 State Senator Tom Sherman (D)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Governor Daniel Mckee (D) (Inc.)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Secreatary of State Nellie Gorbea (D)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Former Secretary of State Matthew Brown (D)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Helena Buonanno Foulkes (D)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Luis Daniel Munoz (D)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Kalilu Camara (D)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Jonathan J Riccitelli (R)
Rhode Island Democratic 9/13/2022 Ashley Marie Kalus (R)